Alzheimer’s Hypochondriasis, The New Fear.


Years ago, I was talking to my father and listening to him complain about misplacing his keys or forgetting to do what he considered a daily task. It worried him. He believed it was an indication of brain degeneration. I thought he was being silly because “everybody forgets.”

A while back, I found myself plagued with fear about my own cognitive health – a concern that has continued. I could not, for the life of me, recall someone’s name, someone I’ve known for over six years. I was blank. I picked up my phone to look through the contacts and thought, “I bet her name is at the end of the list,” so I reversed the order of my search and started in the V’s. Her name is filed at the beginning of the alphabet. Being wrong made the feeling worse.

I was horrified.

When JHP, JR was alive I called my forgetfulness “Vicarious Dementia” and pass it off as no big deal. This bit of forgetfulness where I couldn’t pull someone’s name from anywhere in my brain scared me more than forgetting one of my daughters’ many activities, or to call back a friend. This event scared me because as hard as I tried to remember the name, it was gone.

Of course, this got me to thinking about my own situation and what I would do if I was struck by dementia. I realized I’ve been taking steps, somewhat unconsciously, to lessen the likelihood that I will be in the same situation my father is in.

  • I rarely drink anymore.
  • I’ve upped my vitamin regimen to include nutritional supplements that work on the brain and memory.
  • I exercise almost every day. Injuries and illnesses are the only things that stop me.
  • I quit smoking.

These are things that normal people do normally, right? Up until a few years ago, I took my long-term health for granted thinking I was nearly invincible. Life changed and I began doing unhealthy things in reaction to my new life circumstances. My current life choices are both a response and a reaction to seeing what my father went through. And, as one dear friend says, I’m not a good drinker and my body lets me know how much it dislikes alcohol. While I have been secretly freaking out about what my situation might be like when I’m older, it turns out this is a worldwide fear. Out of the blue, I received a note from a good friend that included a link to a NY Times article entitled, “Our Irrational Fear of Forgetting,” by Margaret Morganroth Gullete.

One response to “Alzheimer’s Hypochondriasis, The New Fear.

  1. Good job. I’m in the exact same boat. My hubby and I apologize to each other all of the time for what may come. 😦

Leave a Reply

